Chess Pie

Typically I would end my post with a link to the original recipe, well this recipe was one that was posted on facebook with no link attached, so I will simply post the recipe and tell ya’ll how it turned out.   I made this yesterday as kind of a quick throw together and it was really simple and I had all the ingredients on hand.  Any recipe I can try without having to make a trip to the grocery store, automatically wins points in my book.

During the baking process these pies developed a hard crust on the top, which i guess is normal, but it made it impossible for me to know when they were done.  I took them out after 45 minutes thinking they were done.  I let them cool for a while and then tried to cut into one of them and it was liquid under the hard crust like shell.  At this point I’m just winging it to figure out what to do next, so I cracked the shell on both pies and put them back in the oven for another 15 minutes and all was well,  I may be wrong, but I feel like cracking that shell allowed more heat to reach the inside, but maybe that is rubbish and they would have been fine without cracking the shell.

I am a big fan of Egg Custard pie and it has always been a treat in our family that is reserved only for Thanksgiving, and this pie was remarkably similar with the exception of the textural difference of the top layer.  I don’t think it is something I would make again, simply because if I’m going to have a semi-egg custard pie, I might as well bake an egg custard pie.

**Side Note**  This pie calls for Vinegar,  I had never baked a pie that called for Vinegar before and was unsure of which type of vinegar to use.  Upon research after baking I found out that I should have used Distilled White Vinegar,  instead I used Apple Cider Vinegar. This did not effect the taste, but did help to cut the sweetness which I’m guessing was the original reason for the Vinegar in the first place.

Let me know what you think, and if you try this pie and don’t get the hard crust on top let me know,  not sure if I did something wrong, or if that was the way it was supposed to be.

Image

EASY OLD FASHION CHESS PIE (Grandma’s Recipe)

Ingredients = makes 2 Pies (or 1 deep dish)

3 cups sugar
2 tablespoons cornmeal
1 Cup or 2 sticks of margarine or butter, melted
6 eggs slightly beaten
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 tablespoon vinegar
2 unbaked pie shells in pie pans ***(you can use the cheap pie shells, but the brand name ones really make the pie) as I have used both…and got more compliments when I used the name brand (more expensive) pie shells!

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

In a large bowl, mix dry ingredients w/Fork — mix sugar and cornmeal. Then Add melted margarine and mix thoroughly.

Add eggs, 1 at a time, mixing after each addition. Add all liquids, taking care to end with vinegar. Mix well. Divide filling among each unbaked pie shell. Place pies on large cookie sheet and Bake for approximately 45 mins to 1 hour.

Leave a Reply

